Designed to recognise excellence in Architectural Technology globally, the AT Awards | Practice are open to all professionals, whether they are based nationally or internationally. They comprise of two categories:

  • The Award for Excellence in Architectural Technology
  • The Alan King Award for Excellence in Architectural Technology for projects with a value no greater than £750k¹ 


Why enter the AT Awards | Practice?

  • To gain recognition for you, your practice and your project.
  • They are open Awards, which allows any individuals and/or practices from all built environment disciplines to enter projects of all sizes — there are no restrictions.
  • The entries are rigorously judged and peer assessed by a panel of experienced Chartered Architectural Technologists and guest judges from the sector.
  • Award winners receive promotion across the Institute in print and online and are featured on in a dedicated Award section.
  • If you are a finalist you can promote this to your clients, potential clients and all other networks and colleagues.
  • Finalists receive a finalists logo to promote their achievement and winners will also receive a customised logo once announced.
  • Winners and their projects are featured on the Institute's website, promoted and featured at the annual AT Awards event where winners are announced, featured in Architectural Technology Journal and through our social media channels.
  • Your practice and project receive a plaque for display.

Who can enter?

These Awards are open to all individuals and/or practices and projects of all sizes (whole, or part of) nationally and internationally. Projects entered must have been completed within the last five years (post 2014).

Criteria for entry

Submissions will be assessed in terms of their design context, concept and creativity against their response to Architectural Technology, relating to function, fabric performance and delivery.

Each entry will be assessed against the following criteria:

  • buildability and assembly
  • functionality and inclusivity
  • innovation and sustainability
  • performance and robustness

Your submission should include drawings, illustrations, images, written specification or other report documentation for the project and should be presented in no more than two A2 presentation boards and two A1 detailed design drawings.

In addition, a summary report, no greater than two sides of A4, should be included with your submission to clearly show how the criteria (detailed above) has been addressed.

There is a £60 application fee.


Entries are judged and peer assessed by the Judging Panel for excellence in Architectural Technology irrespective of size, complexity, location or style, taking into account constraints of the brief, budget and timescales. Judging takes place during May and the Panel may make a request to visit the project. If this is the case, you will be contacted in order for the necessary arrangements to be made.


Winners receive:

Winner (first)
a plaque for permanent attachment to the building and for the winner, a trophy, a certificate and £1500¹

Highly Commended (second)
a plaque for permanent attachment to the building and for the winner, a trophy, a certificate and £750¹

Commended (third)
a plaque for permanent attachment to the building and for the winner, a trophy, a certificate and £550¹

Promotion of winners:

  • Use of the AT Awards logo.
  • Press release.
  • Features and films on the website and social media channels.
  • Promotion at future events.
  • Case studies.
  • Promotion before, during and after the AT Awards event.
  • Promotion of the plaque presentations.

AT Awards plaques: presentation event

  • The AT Awards plaques are specially made for attachment to the winning project and to present to the winner.
  • The plaques are presented at the project and the event is especially tailored to suit the project.
  • The plaque is presented by the President (if unavailable by the President Elect or a Past President) and Chairman of the Judging Panel (Vice-President Technical) by the Institute.
  • Other guests are invited linked to the project or CIAT locally.
  • Local dignitaries and press may also be invited.
  • The plaque presentations are promoted via CIAT's media channels; print and electronic.

Entry conditions

  1. Winning submissions remain the property of CIAT and will be used in publicity material accordingly.
  2. The application form must be completed in full in the prescribed format, together with the entry fee.
  3. The building owner and/or client must have given written consent for this application to be made.
  4. Entries submitted without all the criteria for entry (as stated) or after the closing date will not be judged.
  5. The building or part of the structure being submitted must have been completed within the last five years.
  6. Once the application has been submitted, no refunds can be made if the application is later withdrawn.
  7. Confidentiality will be observed in respect of the information associated with the submitted entry.
  8. Judges reserve the right to accept or reject entries.
  9. Judges reserve the right to not make an award in any category.
  10. There will only be one winner, one highly commended and one commended in any one year. 
  11. A project may be entered into either of the Awards but if selected will only be a finalist for one. This will be decided by the Judges.
  12. The Judge's decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.

Additional information

All queries should be directed to or call +44(0)20 7278 2206 and speak to the Communications Department.


Key dates
Entries open:               Friday 1 February 2019
Entries deadline:         Sunday 5 May 2019 (entries now closed)
Finalists announced:  Friday 12 July 2019
AT Awards event:        Friday 13 September 2019

¹ or equivalent money for international entries.

View previous winners